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What’s Changed on 11/23/2020

Change: Establishing Relationships

Change: AZ Minimum Wage Increase

Change: 30 Days of Income

Reminder: Requesting Verification

Reminder: NA Denial Notices

General Information: Verifying Ul Fraud

General Information: Division of Child Support Services (DCSS) Office Relocation

General Information: Forms Update

This page relays to staff and the public of changes to the Cash and Nutrition Assistance Policy
(CNAP) Manual regarding policy, procedures, and forms. Reminders and general information may
also be displayed on this page. Prior What's Changed pages are listed in FAA6.R01 of the CNAP
Manual.

The above list summarizes the information on this page. Within the CNAP Manual, each item listed
above links to screens below.

Change: Establishing Relationships

EFFECTIVE DATE: Effective for all applications received on or after 11/23/2020.

This change was made to clarify the steps for establishing and verifying relationships and what to do
when relationships are not verified for CA

For CA, establish the relationship of each person living in the home to determine who can or must be
included in the budgetary unit. Relationship must be established and verified at new application and
when a new household member is reported. Verify relationship using documented verification only.
More than one verification source may be required.

For NA, verify relationship only when questionable.
When relationship cannot be verified, consider the child a CA nonparticipant.
When there is no eligible dependent child in the budgetary unit, deny or close CA. Key DC in the

DENIAL/CLOSURE REASON field on AFED in AZTECS. When closing an open CA case, an
ineligible date must be keyed in the INELIG DATE field.

Policy reference(s) revised due to this change:

FAA2.D04 — Establishing Relationship - Overview Prior Policy

Revised to include when relationships must be established. (Effective for all
applications received on or after 11/23/2020.)




FAA2.DO4A — Verifying Relationship Prior Policy

Revised policy to clarify how and when to establish relationships and what to do
when a relationship cannot be established. Moved the UMP verification sources
policy to the Relationship Verification Sources section of the CNAP Manual.
(Effective for all applications received on or after 11/23/2020.)

FAA2.D04B — Relationship Verification Sources Prior Policy

Changed title from Relationship Verification Documents. Revised to include when
relationships must be established. (Effective for all applications received on or after
11/23/2020.)

Change: AZ Minimum Wage Increase

EFFECTIVE DATE: For income received on or after 01/01/2021
Due to changes in Arizona Law, the Arizona minimum wage increases in January.
Effective January 1, 2021, Arizona minimum wage will increase to $12.15.

Policy has also been updated to reflect exemption to this policy for tipped workers who can receive $3
less per hour and participants who work in Flagstaff who have a minimum wage of $15.

A glossary term has been added to inform staff that a tipped worker is an employee who regularly
receives more than $30 a month in tips as part of their regular pay. When regular wages and rips are
added, the employee cannot receive less than the regular minimum wage for all hours worked.

Policy reference(s) revised due to this change:

FAA6.Q01M.19 - Minimum Wage Federal and State Definition

Changed to reflect new minimum wage coming into effect. Also added exception
about tipped workers and employees in Flagstaff.

FAA6.Q01T.08 — Tipped Worker Definition
Added new glossary term for Tipped Workers.

Change: 30 Days of Income

EFFECTIVE DATE: Effective for requesting 30 days of income at an interview or reported change on
or after 11/23/2020.

This change was made to clarify that when an application or change report is submitted request
verification of income during a 30-day period leading up to the interview or change report date.

Workers are to budget the income already received by the budgetary unit during the budget month
and any income certain to be received during the approval period.

For any applications or changes workers are to request verification of income during a 30-day period
leading up to the interview or change report date.

Policy reference(s) revised due to this change:

FAA4.105B - Income Verification Prior Policy

Updated the verbiage for the request period. Removed policy regarding income that
is reported during the approval period. Changed the warning to a note. (Effective for
reauestina 30 davs of income at an interview or reported chanae on or after




11/23/2020.)

FAA4.I06A - Projecting Income Overview Prior Policy

Removed policy regarding when contact is made with an employer after an interview
has been completed, attempt to verify and budget all known income received up to
and including the date of the current contact. (Effective for requesting 30 days of
income at an interview or reported change on or after 11/23/2020.)

Reminder: Requesting Verification

It is a federal requirement that all NA denial notices must be sent within two days of the denial action.
Failure to send the denial notice within two days can be cited as an invalid Case and Procedural Error
Rate (CAPER).

This change was made to clarify when to send an AZTECS request notice after a Request for
Information (RFI) is auto generated from HEAplus

When an RFl lists all necessary verification needed to make a determination for a submitted
application or change report, a separate AZTECS request notice does not need to be sent.

When all verification was requested on the RFI and the due date expired prior to an interview, a
separate AZTECS notices does not need to be sent.

Only send an AZTECS request notice when the RFI did not list all verification to complete a
determination.

Denial Closure notices must only list information that was requested and not provided.

Reminder: NA Denial Notices

It is a federal requirement that all NA denial notices must be sent within two days of the denial action.
Failure to send the denial notice within two days can be cited as an invalid Case and Procedural Error
Rate (CAPER).

General Information: Verifying Ul Fraud

The DES Fraud Hotline should not be called to obtain verification of a Ul fraud claim. The hotline is
unable to provide this verification and this will cause duplicate reports.

When a Ul Fraud Claim has been filed, the HOSC screen will show the 50 Ul Disqualification Code in
the DISQ CODE field. This is sufficient verification that the client has filed a Ul fraud claim. There is
currently no indicator for PUA in the HEAplus system. The Policy Support Team (PST) will notify the
field when the HEAplus fraud claim indicators for PUA are available.

Verify Ul fraud claims when both of the following occur:

° The unemployment interface (HOSC/HEAplus) shows receipt of Ul or PUA benefits
) The participant states they never applied for or received Ul benefits

When the participant states a claim has not been filed, advise the participant that a claim can be filed
by either of the following methods:



° By calling the DES Fraud Hotline at 602-542-9449
° By completing the online e-form that can be accessed through the des.az.gov web page

Participants will need to provide their full name, date of birth, social security number, contact
information, place of residence and their allegation of potential fraud to file a claim.

When participants provide an email address when filing their fraud claim, they will receive a
confirmation email indicating they have submitted a fraud claim. This confirmation can be used as
verification that the participant has not received the income.

When the participant states they do not have confirmation, do not ask participants to re-file a fraud
report when they have already done so. When a report has been filed, the Office of Inspector General
(OIG) actively investigates the claim. Duplicate reports create issues for OIG.

When a Ul Fraud Claim has been verified, do not budget the Ul income.

When the participant is unable to provide the requested verification and requests assistance from the
agency, elevate the request to the PST for additional assistance.

For more information, see FAA6.K11 in the CNAP Manual.

General Information: Division of Child Support Services (DCSS) Office Relocation

Effective 12/14/2020, the DCSS Office in Show Low will be relocating.

New Address:
20 E White Mountain Blvd
Lakeside AZ 85929
(928) 532-4303

General Information: Forms Update

Changes to Forms — 11/14/2020 through 11/20/2020

As a reminder, it is important not to save documents on your desktop or a folder. It is better to use the
form you need directly from the Document Center. Forms are frequently updated and sometimes the
current form must be used for programming purposes.

Revised forms:

° No forms were revised during the specified period

Newly created forms:

° No forms were created during the specified period

Revised Marketing Materials (Posters, Pamphlets, Flyers):

° No revisions to marketing materials were made during the specified period






